Navratri Special : Know the 9 Avatars of Durga and 9 Colors to Wear

Navrati word in itself holds a special significance which refers to nine nights and nine different forms of Goddess Durga. Each and every Goddess hold importance and is worshipped with religious fervour.

Navratri 2016 Dates
Navratri: October 1, 2016 to October 10, 2016

Navrati – one of the most popular festivals celebrated all around the World. The occasion starts with Ghatasthapana wherein devotees place picture of Goddess in to the kalash. Here we bring to you nine different avatars of Goddess Durga.

Navaratri is a festival dedicated to the worship of the Hindu deity Durga. The word Navaratri means ‘nine nights’ in Sanskrit, nava meaning nine and ratri meaning nights. During these nine nights and ten days, nine forms of Devi are worshipped.


Navratri Day 1: Goddess Shailputri –  Color- Yellow

‘Shailputri’ means the daughter of mountains also known as Sati Bhavani, Parvati or Hemavati. ‘Shail’ means mountains and ‘Putri’ means daughter. She is the first among Navadurgas and devotees worship her on the first day of Navaratri. Her worship takes place on the first day of Navaratri – the nine divine nights. The embodiment of the power of Brahma, Vishnu and Shiva, she rides a bull and carries a trident and a lotus in her two hands. The color to wear on the first day is Yellow.


 Day 2: Goddess Brahmacharini , color- Green

Goddess Brahmacharini is worshipped on the second day of Navratri festival. This is the second form of Durga who took various births to attain Lord Shiva as her husband. Bharmacharini means one who practices devout austerity. She holds a rosary in her right hand and a water utensil in her left hand. She is blissful and endows happiness, peace, prosperity and grace upon all devotees who worship her. Filled with bliss and happiness, she is the way to emancipation – Moksha. The color to wear on the second day is Green. She enlightens us in the magnificent embodiment of Durga with great powers and divine grace.


Navratri Day 3: Goddess Chandraghanta. color – Grey

Goddess Chandraghanta is worshipped on the third day of Navratri. She is also known as Chandrakhanda, Chandika or Ramchandi. She has a ‘chandra’ or half moon in her forehead in the shape of a ‘ghanta’ or bell. That is why she is called ‘Chandraghanta’. She is charming, has a golden bright complexion and rides a lion. She has ten hands, three eyes and holds weapons in her hands. She is the apostle of bravery and possesses great strength to fight in the battle against demons. The color to wear on the third day is Grey.


Navratri Day 4: Goddess Kushmanda color- Orange

Goddess Kushmanda the fourth form of the Hindu goddess Durga worshipped on the fourth day of Navratri. The meaning of the name ‘Ku-shm-anda’ is as follows: ‘Ku’ = a little; ‘ushma’ = ‘warmth’; ‘anda’ = ‘the cosmic egg’. So she is considered the creator of the universe. The color to wear on the fourth day is Orange.


Navratri Day 5: Goddess Skanda Mata, Color- White

Goddess Skanda Mata, is the fifth form of Goddess Durga and Skanda means Kartikeya and Mata means mother. She grants her devotees with wisdom, power and prosperity. She is also regarded as The Goddess of Fire. She is worshipped on the fifth day of Navaratri. She is accompanied by the Lord Skanda in his infant form. The color to wear on the fifth day is White.


Navratri Day 6: Goddess Katyayani, color- Red

Katyayani, the sixth form of Goddess Durga is also known as a Warrior Goddess. It is said that she eventually led to slaying the demon, Mahishasura and then mounted the lion given to her by Goddess Gauri. Once upon a time, there was a great sage called Kata, who had a son named Katya. Kata was very famous and renowned in the lineage of saints. He underwent long austerities and penance in order to receive the grace of the Mother Goddess. He wished to have a daughter in the form of a goddess. According to his wish and desire the Mother Goddess granted his request. Katyayani was born to Kata as an avatar of Durga. The color to wear on the sixth day is Red.


Navratri Day 7: Goddess Kalaratri , Color – Blue

Kalaratri, the seventh form of Durga who is known for destroying ignorance and removing darkness from the universe. Kalaratri or Shubhamkari – is the violent form of Goddess Durga. It is said that she licked the blood of demon Rakta Beeja, who had the potential to create demons from his blood.This form of Goddess depicts the darker side of life. A necklace flashing lightning adorns her neck. She has three eyes that shine bright and terrible flames emanate from her breath. She is black like Goddess Kali and holds a sparkling sword in her right hand battle all evil. The color to wear on the seventh day is Blue.


Navratri Day 8: Goddess Mahagauri, color- Pink

Mahagauri the eighth avatar of Goddess Durga who is known as a ray of lightning. According to myths, she performed rigid Tapas without moving her body. Maha Gauri is intelligent, peaceful and calm. It is said that due to her long austerities in the deep forests of the Himalayas her color transformed from white to Pink.


Navratri Day 9: Goddess Siddhidatri,Color- Purple

Siddhidatri, ninth avatar of Mother Goddess who provides knowledge to her devotees. The knowledge that she provides makes one realise that it is only her who exists, in short she is the supreme power of all perfect things. Siddhidatri has supernatural healing powers. She has four arms and she is always in a blissful happy enchanting pose. She rides on the lion as her vehicle. She blesses all Gods, saints, yogis, tantrics and all devotees as a manifestation of the Mother Goddess. The color to wear on the seventh day is Purple.


Join weekly story newsletter

* indicates required
Choose Category